Around the House

Ava Helen and Linus Pauling with Tyl Eulenspiegel, Pasadena, 1957.

I recall…Linus Pauling on a Sunday morning reading all of the ‘funny papers’ published in the Los Angeles area.  I suspect that he follows all of the comic strips published in America.

-W. H. Latimer, 1951


[In his later years] my father would go to bed after watching the news, about 6:30 or 7:00, [and] read until 9:00.  When he woke up at 3:00 or 4:00 in the morning he’d get up and cook his breakfast and get to work.  I asked him, how did he go to sleep?  And he said he’d take the cube root of some number between 8 and 27.  The first digit is obviously 2….I never asked him whether he had a snazzy way or some algorithm; I’d do it by trial and error, but it doesn’t work for me.

-Peter Pauling, 1997


Usually I eat two eggs in the morning, sometimes bacon, but I happen to be lazy enough not to cook more than one thing for a meal.  The last two days I was eating oxtail soup with vegetables.  I don’t know what I’ll have today.  Perhaps some fish.  In my book [How to Live Longer and Feel Better] I say you shouldn’t eat sweet desserts, but I also quote a professor who says that this doesn’t mean that if your hostess has made this wonderful dessert you should turn it down.  My wife used to say that I always looked for that hostess.

-Linus Pauling, 1987

Linus Pauling at Deer Flat Ranch, 1987.

One Response

  1. Can you tell me anything more about the W.H. Latimer you quoted?
    My father’s name was W.H. Latimer, and was in the citrus business in Southern California.
    He died in 1997 and I have no way of knowing if this quote was from my dad.
    Thank you,
    Melissa Latimer

Leave a Reply

